Open Letter to Michelle Phan.

Dear Michelle.

This open letter is in relation to your recent return to the internet and your video explaining why you left.

I want to thank you. Thank you for sharing with us your flaws and insecurities. That must have been hard, but by doing so, you have shown us that you are human and you are not perfect. Which I personally love you for.

I began watching your videos back in 2007 when you were using kitty litter as a clay face mask. Your videos were inventive and fun to watch. You created in me a love for beauty and makeup, a love which would go on to influence me ten years later.

I watched you grow as an influencer, becoming a woman who took the world by storm. A woman who loved her viewers and worked tirelessly to make them happy and her family proud. You become my hero.

At 15 I wanted to be like you, in that I wanted to be successful and to prove to people that I could do anything I put my mind and heart too. Now at 23, I have fought through every trail thrown my way, from problems with my health to my education and career. But it wasn’t enough.

You had reached a point of perfection out of my reach. Every post, every photo, every video was flawless. Your life looked perfect but you were becoming someone I could no longer relate too. And then you were gone.

But you came back, in more ways than one. Your video showed that money and fame are not everything and cannot make you happy. You showed your vulnerability, your weaknesses and your soul. You became real again.

The words you claimed as an explanation were actually a gift for your viewers, for me. Your gift was to teach us an important lesson. Not only that we should not believe everything that we see on the internet, you admitted that your ‘perfect’ life was a well-filtered lie. But also that it is ok to loose your way in life. It is ok to say no when something doesn’t make you happy. To take a step back from the madness to refind or redefine yourself. To take time for you. 

And that no matter where life takes you or how successful you become, it is important to remain true to yourself. That is where true happiness lies.

I know you’ve been through hard times and that there are going to be more to come. So I want to wish you, Good Luck.

Your inspiration turned me from an imaginative young girl into a confident, driven woman. So now, I hope our faith in you can help you find your way again.

Good Luck, Mich.

Love Ay x

Leave a Reply

