Removing Black Hair Dye!

A few months ago, at the beginning of the summer I wanted to change my hair from red to purple, which seemed like a good idea at the time and might have been a good idea if I hadn’t accidently mixed up the hair dyes, during my faded red hair to jet black.

Despite having had dark hair in the past, I was not impressed with this colour, it showed how damaged my hair was and washed out my face, leaving my complexion looking pasty and ill, unless I contoured my face within an inch of its life.

black3

Needless to say the colour had to go, but removing black is infamously difficult without bleaching the health out of your hair. After years of colouring and heat my hair was too damaged to even think about bleaching it. So, after doing quite a lot of research I bring to you the solution I used for this problem.

Rather than bleaching or stripping my hair I used Scott Cornwall Decolour Hair Colour Remover. Unlike strippers, a colour remover doesn’t contain ammonia, peroxide or bleach; meaning it was my damaged hair’s last hope.

The product itself is really easy to use, applying it to the hair just as you would a hair dye. The smell is awful, it reminds me of rotten eggs, but it is bearable and the smell dissipates once the product has been applied.

It states on the box that it may take two application to completely remove the colour but I actually managed to remove all of the black with only one application (I think red dye may take two applications). From some of the reviews I read that some people’s hair went blonde after using this product, mine became light orange but I think that may have had something to do with the natural red tones in my hair (ginger baby).

Once the colour was removed my hair was a blank slate to work with again. Due to the damage already done to my hair I decided not to go dark again and instead applied an 8.1 ash blonde which neutralised some of the orange, turning my hair a dark strawberry blonde.

IMG_0438.JPG

Of course, once the colour is removed you can move onto what ever colour you desire. The great think about a colour remover is that it works on your roots as well, making all you hair the same colour so that when you recolour it the colour is even.

So removing black, or any colour, is not the end of the world and doesn’t have to destroy your hair or cost a fortune. Of course if you are in any doubt go to a hair stylist for some advice.

Have you ever removed black from your hair? Let me know in the comments below or on Twitter, just follow the bird.

 

Ay x

twiiter

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

