August Favourites 2016

Summer is over, the clouds are starting to roll back in and school is right around the corner (for some of us anyway.) But I have discovered some new favourites this summer that I will be taking with me into the Autumn months.

Makeup

bareMinerals Mineral Foundation – I will bashfully admit that I have always avoided this foundation in the past. I have always preferred to have a good coverage foundation to cover my acne scars and I just couldn’t see how a powder could give me that. How wrong I was and the lovely lady at the counter was determined to show me. She sent me home with a little sample pot, which I was eager to test out. Boy was I surprised! I buffed it into my cheeks and watched my scars practically disappear! It was so light it didn’t feel like I had anything on but the coverage was great! The full sized pot, I believe, is around £30, but I figure if this small sample pot has lasted me over 5 application (over my cheeks) then a large pot will last a while. I am definitely considering purchasing this as my next foundation. bmfoundationSkin Care

bareMinerals Skinlongevity – Keeping with bareMinerals for a moment, I want to talk about this serum. I’ve never used a serum before, but since I reached my 20’s I’ve noticed my skin changing, so I decided to give this a try. The serum contains ingredients like California poppy, and ginger extracts, everything is very natural and vegan. The product itself is very light weight, it absorbs into the skin quickly meaning you can get straight into your makeup, plus it smell amazing! I have been using this product for 2 months now and I can see a difference. My acne has cleared up considerably, my skin feels in better condition and looks brighter. This serum is a little pricey at £45 but so far I am enjoying using it.

serum2Hair

8.1 Ash Blonde –If you follow me on social media you’ll know I had a bit of a hair disaster at the beginning of the summer, when a hair colour mix up turned by red hair jet black! I rocked the black through the summer but now finally I went to get it fixed! I had the colour 8.1 ash blonde used on my hair and because of the natural red tones in my hair  it turned a beautiful strawberry blonde that I am obsessed with! I am doing a post on my hair transformation, so to check out my new hair and how to colour correct, stay tuned for my Friday post!

Food

Avocado – Another obsession of this month is avocados. I have always liked avocados but over this month I have tried out so many new recipes with this wonderful fruit and so I now go through a bag a week. Avodados are so great for you as they are loaded with healthy fats that the body can use rather than store! (Not all fat is bad). Let me know in the comments or on Twitter if you would like some recipes!

avocado-829092_640

 

Books

Dracula. Bram Stoker – I’m not the biggest fan of horror, there’s a limit to what I can take, but when you’re told to read Dracula for school what choice do you have? If you have never read Dracula then you need to! It is a fantastic story with the beautiful romantic horror, rather than the modern blood, gore and scare factor that has always put me off the horror genre. A really brilliant read that gives Edward Cullen a run for his money!

TV

Stranger Things – You’re probably fed up of hearing about this show but I am a huge fan! It kept myself and my brother on the edges of our seats, screaming at the TV from the first episode. Set in the 80’s, this weird series has it all! Mystery, monsters, science experiments gone wrong and Christmas light Ouija boards! There is a reason why everyone is talking about it!

strangerthings

Those are my favourites for August. What have you been loving? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter. Just follow the bird!

Ay x

twiiter

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

