July Favourites 2016

What a beautiful hot month it has been here in England; it’s not very often I get to say that! Because it was my birthday this month I have some interesting products to share with you.

Makeup

For the past few years I have been stuck in a rut when it comes to foundation, using the same drug store brand since I was 17. But these days the formula just wasn’t compatible with my skin. So, as it was my birthday, I splurged a bit and brought myself a Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition foundation by Urban Decay in shade 0.5. Quite frankly I don’t know why it took me so long to switch.

The product is so thin you can barely feel it on your face but the coverage is superb! You need the tiniest amount, one pump covers the majority of my face. It is completely vegan so is not tested on animal (which is very important) and it contains green tea extracts which will help reduce redness.

At £24 ($32) it is definitely the most expensive foundation I have purchased for myself, but with the small amount I used I can see it lasting me a very long time.skin edited

Hair

For hair this month I have discovered the new Garnier Ultimate Blends Marvellous Glow Oil. My hair is really thick and course so oils are a huge part of my hair care routine, but I was really impressed with this product. It contains argan and camellia oils which really nourish dry and damaged hair (like mine). It also helps protect against heat damage from heat appliances and even protects again UV damage. Because of this I have taken to applying it to my hair straight after my shower, again when my hair is dry and styled and then again every morning. I have noticed a difference in the condition of my hair, it is a lot smoother and there is a lot less breakage when I run my hands through it.

At £7 ($9) I am really impressed with the quality of this oil and will definitely be repurchasing once the bottle is finished.

haireditedSkin Care

With work piling up my stress levels have been through the roof and my skin has been suffering. As if it were fate, L’Oréal brought out their new face mask collection, so I purchased the Pure Clay Detox Mask, which is the black one.  I started applying it over my problem areas (cheeks, chin and forehead) three times a week and the results are fantastic. The clay has dried up the breakouts, speeding up the healing process.

These masks are £7 from Boots, which is quite good considering the size of the jar. I can’t wait to test out the other two masks in this collection.

maskedited.jpgFood

Food wise I have been on a bit of a cleanse this month, so I have been really enjoying my green smoothies for breakfast. Here is the recipe I use.

1 Apple – 1 pear – 1 banana – 1 kiwi – 1 teaspoon chia seeds – 1 handful spinach – 1 handful kale – 1/2 cup of a juice of your choice.

This smoothie tastes amazing and is packed with vitamins and anti-oxidants to help with skin, hair and bloating; perfect to get your day started.green-smoothie-1066168_640Books

For books recently I have been trying to read some novels written by authors in my Twitter circle for my pen name (Karin Matthews if you are interested) and I recently found this gem! Norma Jean’s School of Witchery written by Rose Montague.

It has the same kind of feel as PC Casts ‘Marked ‘series, so if you’re a fan of those you will love this! The only other way I can describe this book is Harry Potter meets Charmed. It is packed full of action, suspense and magic. A great read!

 

Randoms

Speaking of books, I have been obsessed with this website, BookBub. If you are a Kindle user you can enter your email into the site and pretty much daily they will email you deals on kindle books. These deal range from half price to 99p and there are often some free ones thrown in too. You then click the book you want and it takes you through Amazon (so you know its legit), the book is then sent to your Kindle device.

I have been collecting the free books and have found some really great stories that I would not normally have picked up. For the Kindle owning, book worms out there, this site is a must!

bb

Check out BookBub here

So these are my favourites for July. What products have you been loving this month? Let me know in the comments below or through Twitter, just follow the bird.

Ay x

twiiter

Follow me on Twitter!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

